Vol. 108 2024 Issue 4 (July/August)

2025 IBA Officer Candidates

2025 IBA Officer Candidates

The slate of candidates for Indiana Bankers Association officers is set for 2025. Elections will take place at the annual business meeting at the IBA Annual Convention this September in French Lick. New officers assume their positions Jan. 1, 2025, and serve one-year terms.

IBA’s Nominating Committee, chaired by immediate past chair Jamie R. Shinabarger, Springs Valley Bank & Trust Co., Jasper, has nominated the following officer candidates:

  • Chair: Matthew W. Howrey, North Salem State Bank
  • First Vice Chair: David M. Findlay, Lake City Bank, Warsaw
  • Second Vice Chair: Lisa Arnold, Home Bank, Martinsville

In addition to serving on the IBA Board of Directors, officers serve on the Association’s Executive Committee, along with the immediate past chair, two directors appointed by the incoming chair, and the Association’s president/CEO. The Executive Committee has the authority to act in lieu of the Board between regular board meetings.

Matthew W. Howrey

Matt Howrey, candidate for board chair, is president and CEO of North Salem State Bank and its holding company, North Salem State Bancorporation, positions he has held since 2010. Prior to joining the bank in 2008 as chief financial officer, he served as a bank examiner for the Indiana Department of Financial Institutions, reaching the level of senior financial examiner.

Howrey’s community leadership includes the Hendricks County Community Foundation and Putnam County 100 Men Who Care. He is a past president of both the Parks Foundation of Hendricks County and the Greencastle-Putnam County Economic Development Center. Howrey is also active in coaching his two boys and fundraising for various sports and school organizations, most notably the Cascade Youth League’s new sports facilities.

He earned bachelor’s and MBA degrees from Indiana University and was named a Rising Star in Banking in 2013 by Northwestern Financial (now BankBeat) magazine.

David M. Findlay

David Findlay, candidate for first vice chair, is chairman and chief executive officer of Lake City Bank, Warsaw, and Lakeland Financial Corporation. He additionally serves on the boards of directors of both the bank and holding company.

Findlay joined the organization in 2000 as executive vice president and chief financial officer, and from 2010 to 2014 served as president and CFO. Previously, he served for five years with Quality Dining Inc., South Bend, concluding as senior vice president and CFO. Findlay began his career with The Northern Trust Company, Chicago, serving in several capacities from 1984 to 1995, when he was a vice president in the commercial lending group.

He is active as a board member with organizations including the Indiana Chamber of Commerce, the Central Indiana Corporate Partnership, OrthoWorx, Orthopedic Capital Foundation, AcceLINX, the Northeast Indiana Regional Partnership, Trine University, Parkview Regional Health Center and Centerfield Capital Partners.

Findlay is a member of the Indiana Bankers Association class of 2019 Leaders in Banking Excellence, the Association’s highest honor. He is a graduate of DePauw University.

Lisa Arnold

Lisa Arnold, candidate for second vice chair, is president and CEO of Home Bank, Martinsville. She joined the bank in 1985 and has served in positions including branch manager, vice president of retail banking, chief operations officer and, most recently, president and chief operating officer.

In addition to various community affiliations, Arnold is a trustee for the IBA Group Insurance Trust and was appointed to the Indiana Board of Depositories in 2024. She is a former member of the Franklin College Alumni Council and a past president of the Indiana Bankers Association Future Leadership Division.

She earned a bachelor’s degree from Franklin College and an MBA from Indiana Wesleyan University. Arnold also is a graduate of the American Bankers Association Stonier Graduate School of Banking and the ABA National Commercial Lending School.

The Nominating Committee has also put forth four nominees to fill director-level positions on the Board:

  • At-Large Director: Mark “Doc” Holt, president and CEO of First Farmers Bank & Trust Co., Converse
  • North Region Director: Jacqueline M. Ruge-Perkins, president and CEO of First State Bank of Porter
  • South Region Director: Mark E. Bruin, president and CEO of The National Bank of Indianapolis
  • South Region Director: David Coffey, president and CEO of Mutual Savings Bank, Franklin

Get Social and Share!

Sign Up to Receive this Publication in your inbox

More In This Issue